The reason I haven’t made a post in so long is because I’ve been quite wrapped up getting a working demo of my latest app ready. I can’t really release much information, but here it is anyway.

The current project I’m working on is called FlexIM, however the name well definitely change once we move to production. It’s an instant messaging application made in Flex, obviously, that can do a whole lot of things.

The basic private chat and public chat room stuff is all included. Also, the ability to connect to all of the major protocols is there, for example, MSN, AIM, Yahoo, ICQ, etc…

The server used is known as Openfire, an open-source real time collaboration (RTC) server.

The core features of the application are nearly done, it successfully connects to all protocols, and you are able to chat with people on your buddy list.

There are numerous things to do! Far too many for a one man job – if you are interested please don’t hesitate to contact m, leave a comment or send me an email.

Right now everything outputs into one big textarea for debugging purposes. I still haven’t figured out how to create individual chat windows and pass the right data to the right window.

Data is sent and received in XML, via the XMPP protocol. With Flex’s fantastic ability of parsing XML, a little tweaking here and there, and I got a partially working demo in just a few days!

I might just release code snippets of how I did some of the things because I know there are lots of developers out there dying for a little itsy-bitsy example. I know just what they are going through (If Nick Velloff could just release the code to his demo app already life would be a whole lot easier!).

